Gift: Wisdom

Standard

Saint Francis of Assisi

Reading:  Do you think that I have come to establish peace on the earth? No, I tell you, but rather division.  (Luke 12:51)

Observation:  I thought the responsorial psalm was going to be what I journaled on today, but there was no denying this verse after I read it this morning.  Yesterday, I had some what of a falling out with my Father on the phone.  It was related to a conversation about my sister’s failing health, but I ended up realizing that he is not necessarily standing in the way of her conversion, but he definitely isn’t helping.  That is why when I read the Gospel this morning, I felt some attachment to the words that Jesus said about how he did not come to bring peace on the earth, but rather division.

Personification:  Peace (Latin: pax I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that I feel called to display the fruit of peace today.  It is going to take a great big dose of the grace of God to be the fruit of peace to my extended family.  I guess, in reality, I can only affect those people that have made a decision to be in my life, so I should focus my efforts on being a peacemaker with them.

Prayer:  Lord, make me an instrument of your peace; where there is hatred, let me sow love; where there is injury, pardon; where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is darkness, light; and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console; to be understood, as to understand; to be loved, as to love; for it is in giving that we receive, it is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

I ask this prayer of Saint Francis, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

