Humble me, O Lord…

Standard

Gift: Piety


On this day let us revive in ourselves an attraction toward Heaven that calls us to carry on in our earthly pilgrimage. Let us lift in our hearts the desire to always unite ourselves to the family of the saints, of which we already have the grace to be a part.

Reading:
For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but the one who humbles himself will be exalted.” (Luke 14:11)

Observation: It is important for me to keep in mind that it is not for my own selfishness that I am working so tirelessly to build up the kingdom of God. I must rely on the grace that comes from God to keep me humble in all of my endeavors. If I can remember that I would have nothing without the grace of God. Whatever gifts he gave me, I need to see that they are given to me to build up the kingdom and not for any other reason that I could come up with.

Personification: Love I will work tirelessly to display the fruit of love to everyone that I meet today. The love that I feel God is calling me to display is not one that expects to receive something in return. Rather, it is only looking to help others feel that God sees great value in them by the acceptance and love of one of his servants. Of course, I will need grace to be humble enough to be his servant and not try and make his will subject to my unworthy opinion.

Prayer: Lord, help me know that it is by the grace of God that I am able to show your love to others, and supply me with enough grace to recognize the different ways that you are calling me to show your love to your people. In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

One thought on “Humble me, O Lord…

Leave a Reply

