Stay on fire for God…

Standard

 

(This is part of my daily prayer, every morning…)

Gift: Counsel

Reading: Do not grow slack in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord.  (Romans 12:11)

Observation: This is the first verse that spoke to me this morning when reading the readings before Mass.  I was hoping Father Roy would shed some light on the Gospel reading or give me another way to look at it in order to get something else from it, but I guess this is what I was supposed to hear for today.  I guess it doesn’t make much sense now that I look back on this morning, who am I to question what God is bringing to my attention?

Personification: Peace (Latin: pax) Today, the responsorial psalm reminds me that it is only in God that I will find real peace.  It is my hope that God will give me the grace I need to be an instrument of His peace to others.  I don’t know how God could ever find me worthy of his grace, but I will pray that he continues to see me in the light of the sacrifice of his Son and not in my sinfulness.

Prayer: Lord, help me to bring your peace and comfort to others by placing in my mind and my heart your Word.  Please let me not only be a container that holds your grace, but allow your grace to flow through me to others as well.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

