Gift: Knowledge

Standard

Reading: None of us lives for oneself, and no one dies for oneself.  For if we live, we live for the Lord, and if we die, we die for the Lord; so then, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s.  (Romans 14:7-8)

Observation: The emotion I am feeling this morning is expressed best by the word gratitude.  God is good…All the time…All the time…God is good.  In the midst of my sinfulness, God loves me.  At the pinnacle of my faith walk with Christ in the church, God will love me.  I guess the gratitude that I am feeling this morning is centered on the fact that I am nothing without the Lord, and I am so grateful to Him for using me, a worthless sinner, to do His work.

Personification: Self-Control (Latin: continentia) In order to be the personification of the fruit of self-control, I will definitely need the grace of God to accomplish it today and for the rest of my life.  I am overcome this morning with the fact that without God, I cannot do anything worth while and even then it is only worth anything if I give the glory to Him.  My flesh wants to cry out to take credit for all the good things that I do, but the Lord who dwells in me is telling me to fade to the background, and give all glory and honor to the one who is Good.

Prayer: Lord, I want to thank you for being in my life.  I’m sorry that it took me so long to start to follow you, but I want to follow you for the rest of my life with the help of your grace.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Gift: Knowledge

  1. jeremy roebuck

    now that i get your twitter messages and they forward me to your blogs its almost like you get to minister to me every day, and i couldnt be happier for that. it takes a strong commitment to the lord and his word to be as diligent and driven to walk as closely as you do with him. again i cant thank God enough for that!

    dear God… thank you for everything. in the name of the father, and of the son, and of the holy spirit… amen

    God bless you Bro

Leave a Reply

