Gift: Piety (Reverence)

Standard

File:Alonzo Rodriguez Commiato dei santi Pietro e Paolo Messina Museo Regionale .jpg

Farewell of Saints Peter and Paul, showing the Apostles giving each other the holy kiss before their martyrdom. (Alonzo Rodriguez, 16th century, Museo Regionale di Messina).

(Are we going to have to wait until our martyrdom until we recieve this holy kiss?)

Reading:  Greet one another with a holy kiss. All the churches of Christ greet you.  For while your obedience is known to all, so that I rejoice over you, I want you to be wise as to what is good, and simple as to what is evil; then the God of peace will quickly crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you.  (Romans 16:16,19-20)

Observation:  I have noticed lately that I have lost that reverence for a greeting of a fellow believer that I have always loved so much.  It has never been a holy kiss as Paul is suggesting here to the Romans, but it was always a hug or a hand shake.  I don’t know if it is my own shame from my sinful nature that causes me to back away from others when I meet them, or the fact that I can see the fact that they are not comfortable with it.  It actually has become more popular to greet someone, even a fellow believer with some kind of a sarcastic remark, rather than an actual greeting.  I am going to try and rectify this today when I meet fellow believers. 

How awesome would it be if I could find a way to say the final line of the verses that I selected from the first reading today whenever I left the company of fellow believers?   I could just say, “The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you.”  instead of my normal, “God bless you.”

Personification:  Love (Latin: caritas)  In order to display the fruit of love today, I will need the grace of our Lord Jesus to be with me.  If I was to actually greet everyone with a hug or a handshake today and the greeting of God bless you, I think I would be well on my way to personifying the fruit of love to everyone I meet.  When I leave the company of others today, I will try and remember to say, “The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you.”  How often do I meet fellow believers when I am out in public?  Shouldn’t I see it as a cause for a simple celebration?

Prayer:  Lord, help me display your Love to everyone that I meet today.  Please help me to show that Love to my family first and then to everyone that I meet today.  I ask this in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Gift: Piety (Reverence)

  1. Jeremy

    fyi… i wrote this before and it sounded much better but my phone deleted it (the devil saw too much insight! 🙂 )

    Well when I first saw the picture i thought to myself… umm two men about to kiss, wierd?!? after reading the discription i understood a little better.

    i feel that for myself i looked away just like the priest did upon witnessing a prostitute. I could not see god’s work and became distracted by my own sinful nature.

    the people of the church too find themselves doing the same thing as you discribed. They keep their distance and make jokes in order to lighten the real work that is in play when greeting eachother. Showing that everyone is full of God’s love who embraces it is too much of a force to experience on a person to person basis every time, so its society that downplays those emotions and power by keeping things light.

    i will take a strong enough force like the bound hands, and self sacriface that peter and paul were facing in order for our hearts to truely open to God’s loving embrace and attempt in any way to share in that moment.

    everyone has their personal boundries and that restricts societies response to one another. The faithful thing that I recieved from this message is that it is possible to show God’s pure love for everyone through another, however that may be achieved. It serves as another way to experience heaven on earth as the final result of our experience on earth may bring to us all.

    God… May your embrace be strong towards me and fill me with eternal grace and fortitude. May I feel your love as pure as it can be and share this moment with another so that we both may be enlightened by our spirit. Please watch over my family and keep them healthy and by your side. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit… Amen.

    God bless you Brother!

Leave a Reply

