Gift: Fortitude

Standard

I hope this picture displays what I am trying to say below…?

Reading:  No servant can serve two masters.  He will either hate one and love the other, or be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon.”  (Luke 16:13)

Observation:  I have heard this verse interpreted by preachers as an explanation of having too much of a dependence on money.  What I think I was hearing yesterday, when I read this verse in the Gospel readings for yesterday’s Mass readings, was a call to live my life without any concern about money.  Everyone wants to give you advice about being a good steward of your money, when in reality you should give it all to God and he will take care of you.  If you work hard and have all of the best intentions to take care of your responisibilities, God will see that and make sure that you have enough or he will see that you are not relying on him and take it all away until you learn how to rely on him.  Of course, I think this message is intended for me, but I think it could apply to any believer who wants to give up their dependence on wealth of this world because it could disappear in an instant and that is not where we are called to focus our energy.

Personification:  Patience (Latin: longanimitas)  I am hearing the call today to display the fruit of patience in my life when it comes to every aspect of it.  I am hearing this morning to be more attentive to my wife and her needs rather than my own selfish needs.  I am hearing a call to be more attentive to my children’s needs rather than trying to make what worked for me when I was a child work for them.  I am hearing a call to be more attentive to the youth ministry’s needs rather that what to think they will be better off just doing what worked for me in learning to walk with the Lord.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be patient like you have been with me for all these years that I have been struggling to follow you.  Please show me the way to help light the path of righteousness for everyone around me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Gift: Fortitude

  1. jeremy roebuck

    i completely understand what you mean when you say that we cannot serve in two directions; however, we have to be able to supply the things necessary to sustain our existence. i assume that you mean that we should give everything that would normally be outside of what is needed to survive. big screen tvs and hummers are unnecessary when that could go towards furthering the churches needs. i guess its up to the individual to let God decide what is in his realm of giving.

    when it comes to patience i feel that understanding helps to grant patience in situations.

    Lord grant me the strength to understand. in the name of the father, and of the son, andof the holy spirit.

    🙂

    • God bless you Bro. We can’t do anything to supply the things necessary to sustain our existence. It is all from God. Everything we have, we owe it all to God. If it was not for his breathing our life into existence, we would not be here. It is by the grace of God that we were not born into abject poverty in some country that can’t support the needs of the people because of their lack of sustainable resources. It is up to you to give whatever you can to the church, to make sure you are doing your part to sustain the work that we are doing to bring the good news to the world, but that is a personal thing between you and God. You are right, it is up to the individual to let God decide what is in his realm of giving. I have found recently that once I gave up my dependence on money and started just giving whatever was needed at any particular time, we have had a surplus. The times when I hoarded over my money, it disappeared faster than ever. I will say that God had to put me in the right place surrounded by good people to make it possible for me to be this comfortable with giving. The challenge for all of us is to find that spot where God can bless us abundantly and know that his kingdom will grow because of his blessings…That is what I think, but what do I know…The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you…

Leave a Reply

