Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Standard

Saint Martin de Porres – feast day (November 3rd)

I believe he was being put up as an example for a young man in our youth ministry by his brother who is in already in God’s hands…

Reading: He said to him, You shall love the Lord, your God, with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.”  (Matthew 22:37)

&

Keep on doing what you have learned and received and heard and seen in me.  Then the God of peace will be with you.  (Philippians 4:9)

Observation: When I looked back over the readings for November 3rd, I realized that the readings for the feast day of Saint Martin de Porres were missed on the website that posts the readings of the day.  Once I read the actual readings for his feast day, I found a very important tone of dependence on God to sustain us.  I believe that Saint Martin de Porres was the epitome of dependence on God in his own life and how he took care of his brothers and the poor that came to him for help in their time of need.

Personification: Faith/Fidelity  It is my sincere hope that through the intercession of Saint Martin de Porres that I can be able to display the fruit of faith and fidelity to everyone that I meet.  I can only hope that I can somehow be the embodiment of the verse from Matthew’s Gospel above, and that I can love the Lord, my God, with all of my heart, with all of my soul, and with all of my mind.

Prayer: Lord, help everyone who reads this understand more clearly that God is speaking to them in the Word of God and by the working of the Holy Spirit in their life today and for the rest of their life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.


Leave a Reply

