Gift: Wisdom

Standard

I googled, “devil death entered the world” and this is the video I found on the videos page.  All glory be to God for revealing his plans for our salvation…

Reading: But by the envy of the devil, death entered the world, and they who are in his possession experience it.  ( Wisdom 2:23)

&

Is he grateful to that servant because he did what was commanded?  So should it be with you. When you have done all you have been commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do.'”  (Luke 17:9-10)

Observation: I could have very easily taken the easy road and just chose the verse from Wisdom to journal on today and said that God was trying to speak with Wisdom to me through this first verse of the first reading today.  I mean how often do the readings start with the last verse of a chapter?  I guess by choosing to journal on this verse from Wisdom and the two verses from the Gospel I can show that God is revealing not only the negative that is in the world because of the devil, but also the fact that his unprofitable servants may not always manifest themselves as the great and wonderful people that they are, because they are acting out of obligation.  By the Word of God, they are acting out of obligation and that is not necessarily a bad thing.

Personification: Humility (Gentleness) It is only through true humility that I can be doing the will of God.  I am going to try to be more cognisant of the fact that there are true believers that act out of obligation rather that their own volition and that is ok.  It would be better for me to see the good in everyone, rather than to try and pick out the evil.  It is my job to join the other unprofitable servants in line doing God’s work, so that more of us that are acting out of obligation to our master can come forward and join in the battle for the souls that are crying out.

Prayer: Lord, help me to stay faithful to your call by your grace.  Please do not let me think highly of myself in any regard other than my allegiance to your will, for I believe and you know that it is only by following your will that I can truly be saved from myself.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Gift: Wisdom

  1. jeremy roebuck

    Wow. i feel like this message was written more for me than i want to believe. i kept having to justify to myself why i cant agree with you. i have come to the understanding that its not that i dont agree but rather im not ready. being the one with the least obligation to direct my focus elsewhere, its hard to believe that i can find the time to fill it with things other than gods will but do.

    humility i believe is earned through strife. the harder life has beaten you at times, the more you can approach life with a calm and gentle soul. no doubt the problems god puts us to face are to teach us the lessons that the bible lets us understand without struggle.

    my question is (and maybe im speaking for myself) why are we such a hands on species that even though we are told the fire is hot, we still but are hands in just to feel the heat. not everyone gets burned but i believe that is because of fear!

    Dear Lord… i come to you today and ask that you open my heart and allow me to breathe deep the glory of your name. In the name of the Father, and of the son, and of the holy spirit… Amen

    🙂

    • Bo, it is not just you that asks that question. The reality is that we are all sinful creatures, created with a sinful nature and it is only by the grace of God that we will not all burn in the everlasting fire. There is nothing we can do to earn or merit his grace, it is a gift that is freely given and all we have to do is admit that we need it. I love you bro, and you need to get your butt out to Oregon to help me with my ministry and with God leading us we can take over the world. Sorry about that, I just had a delusion of grandeur that was either prophetic or pathetic, I can’t decide. Anyway, I miss you bro and I can’t wait until I get a chance to see you again…The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you…

Leave a Reply

