Gift: Understanding

Standard

Godblessyou.gif God Bless you image by Miffhoney08

Reading:  Arise, O God, judge the earth, for yours are all the nations.  (Psalm 82:8)

Observation:  The fact that I have always been aware of my sinfulness is probably the reason that I have always had my reservations about praying for the second coming of Jesus Christ.  However, this morning the readings and specifically the responsorial psalm reminds me that God has the power to rescue all of the afflicted.  However limited our resources may be to help feed the hungry and however difficult it may be logistically to give shelter to the homeless all over the world, God could return and restore everyone to the justice that they deserve.  It seems rather selfish of me to want to stop his return until I am ready because of my sinfulness.  I guess a more methodical reciept of the Sacrament of Reconciliation would help that feeling.

Personification:  Peace  In order for me to personify the fruit of peace, I must have peace in my heart about the plans that I know our God has told us he has in store for us.  This peace only comes through a truly repentant heart.  I believe this peace will come to me not only when I am truly sorry for my sins, but when I keep my promise to the Lord to avoid the near occasion of sin.  Only after I have a truly repentant heart can I plan on displaying the fruit of peace to others that I meet and, of course, this will only happen with the grace of God because I cannot do anything without his grace.

Prayer:  Oh my God I am heartily sorry for having offended you, and I detest all my sins because of your just punishments, but most of all because you are all good and deserving of all my love.  I firmly resolve, with the help of your grace, to sin no more and to avoid the near occasion of sin.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you…

Leave a Reply

