Gift: Piety

Standard

This guy hits the nail right on the head for what I am saying below…

Reading:  Asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, he said in reply, “The coming of the kingdom of God cannot be observed, and no one will announce, ‘Look, here it is,’ or, ‘There it is.’ For behold, the kingdom of God is among you.”  (Luke 17:20-21)

Observation:  It is only through fear that the devil would ever win over the minds of the faithful people of God.  However, I guess what I am hearing this morning is that if we acted as if the Kingdom of God was already here, I mean truly acted as if it were here, there would be no need for fear about the second coming of Jesus Christ.  As a Catholic Christian, I believe we have the perfect representation of his kingdom already being here, that is the real presence of his body and blood in the Eucharist.  Why don’t we celebrate that more?  Is it because we are afraid of offending those that don’t believe?  If that is the case, than the devil has won the battle by intimidating us with our own kindness towards others.

Personification:  Joy  Today will be the first day that I will start acting as if the Kingdom of God has arrived.  To do that, I must be the personification of the fruit of joy.  It is not just happy that someone has joined us at the table, but true joy displays itself with true wisdom and can only show itself in my life with the grace of God.  Since He is here in the person of his Son, I will ask him when I go to receive him in communion today to change my heart to be filled with his joy.

Prayer:  Lord, as you come into the body of this unworthy person today, please change me into someone who displays the fruit of joy to everyone that I meet.  I don’t want to hold back your joy to anyone, because you are here and that is a great reason to be joyful.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Gift: Piety

  1. Jeremy

    my only advice reagarding this post is to beware because the devil hunts the children of God. If you place your faith in the forefront without fear be sure to have your holy sword and shield ready to better the perversities that will insue. One thing to keep in mind is to go forward with grace and to stay humble. He is always waiting for God’s children to falter with open claws to sink into your exposed wounds.

    Dear Lord… make me still before you. Calm my soul and give my heart strength to hear your words without judgment or ridicule. Bring me closer to you. In the name of the father, and of the son, and of the holy spirit… amen

    • The devil cannot have what Jesus has taken possession of, or if you read my journal for today, specifically Jesus is going to return to bring those that are near His body to the glory of Heaven…We, as God’s children, are going to falter based on our sinful nature, irrespective of the devil, but it is only God’s grace that will keep us free from sin…The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you…

Leave a Reply

