Gift: Knowledge

Standard

Reading:  The Lord said,Pay attention to what the dishonest judge says.  Will not God then secure the rights of his chosen ones who call out to him day and night? Will he be slow to answer them?  I tell you, he will see to it that justice is done for them speedily. But when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?”  (Luke 18:6-9)

Observation:  This morning, I am hearing Jesus’ words as a personal challenge to every believer on earth right now.   I find it important to note that Jesus does not say that because of the widow’s persistance, she gets what she wants.  The judge relented to give her a decision, and Jesus says that God will make sure his decision comes to us speedily, not that he will judge in our favor necessarily.

Personification:  Chastity  In order to display the fruit of Chastity in my life, I will need to continue to ask and recieve the grace of God that comes from the Holy Eucharist.  I need to focus my mind on what God is calling me to be in my relationship with my wife and also as an example to my children.  Chastity in mind and body is a very tall order for everyone, but I must remember that it is a strict adherence to his law that displays the faith that he has given to me and not any other thing that my mind can try and justify my faith through.

Prayer:  Lord, I want to thank you for getting me this far and I’m sorry for not completely depending on you in all things.  Please help me to display the fruit of Chastity in my life and don’t allow me to focus my attention on the flesh.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

