Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Standard

Reading:  In those days there appeared in Israel men who were breakers of the law, and they seduced many people, saying: “Let us go and make an alliance with the Gentiles all around us; since we separated from them, many evils have come upon us.”  (1 Maccabees 1:11)

Observation:  This morning first reading from the daily Mass readings from the Catholic Church seemed to be not very good news, because it tells a story that is quite sad.  It tells about when the Jews turned their back on the covenant and made an alliance with the Gentiles.  At first, I thought about the fact that we are the Gentiles and isn’t it terrible that Jesus opened up the faith to us but then I thought about the fact that he specifically said that the fact that everyone is welcome to answer the call of conversion, the ones that have faith will follow the commandments.  In essence, I believe what he was saying was that he did not come to abolish the law, but to fulfill it.  Therefore, it is incumbent upon us to study the law and learn the history in order that we don’t make the same mistakes the Israelites did.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  I have faith that God will grant me the grace to act out of humility in all things that he is calling me to do and that I will be show the fruit of gentleness to all people, including my family, even when they are in need of correction.  I need direction and guidance at all times from the Holy Spirit in order to be able to display the humility that comes from God.  I have spent most of my life trying to justify my own worth and if I am to be a true disciple of Jesus, then my need for self worth would diminish and complete dependence on the one who is worthy would increase.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to follow you in all things today and for the rest of my life, not just in what you would do but also how you would do it.  Please allow your fruit of humility to shine through me in order to give people a better chance to see your will being done.  I ask this in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Leave a Reply

