Gift: Counsel (Right Judgement)

Standard

Reading: When he was about to die under the blows, he groaned and said: “The Lord in his holy knowledge knows full well that, although I could have escaped death, I am not only enduring terrible pain in my body from this scourging, but also suffering it with joy in my soul because of my devotion to him.”  (2 Maccabees 6:30)

Observation: I guess you could read this first reading today and say that we should lament that we don’t have these older examples in the church to look up to.  I mean when was that last time you saw a man that was over the age of 50, really give up something for God in a public way, in order to give the younger generation an example of what our faith should look like.  There are two contradictions to this lament that you may or may not agree with.  First, we do have some older men, such as Father Roy who has  given his life and specifically his retirement years to our Parish, so that we are not left with nothing or turned into a mission church because of the lack of priests currently ready to take over a parish.  Second, why am I not a better example of my faith to the younger generation?  What have I given up lately to show my willingness to align my will with the Father’s will?

Personification: Self-Control  It is my hope that God will supply me with enough grace to control my mouth.  My wife has been saying to me lately that it is not so much of what others ask of me that requires so much of my time, rather it is the random running off at the mouth that I do that squanders the quality time that I could be spending with my family.  Of course, my wife is accepting of the fact that it happens at church, but she is right that I need to learn to control my tongue and only speak when I feel the Holy Spirit moving me to take action and not just to make a point.

Prayer: Lord, please give me the strength and wisdom to know when I should be holding back my speech from getting in the way of what the Holy Spirit is trying to do.  Thank you for the gift of my wife to bring this wisdom to me and I’m sorry for not appreciate the gift that she is to me more often.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Gift: Counsel (Right Judgement)

  1. mary netherton

    Jason, Brody was over tonight and got on my computer and showed me your web site. I liked it so much that I added it to my favorites so it will be at the touch of my fingers. My how God has blessed you with the gift of writing and deeper spiritual insight. I think I’m jealous. Oops that is a sin, I take it back. I will allow God to bless me through your reflections and thoughts. Speaking of self-control of the tongue we all need extra special grace in that area. We all fall short. Did you know that if you clench your teeth together tight they act like bars on a cage that prevent your tongue from slipping out? How’s that for controlling your tongue? I also loved the three minute daily retreats. What a great way to start the day. Thanks for all the hard work you do and what a blessing you are to your St. Alice family. You are a gem!!!! Lots of love, Mary

Leave a Reply

