Gift: Wisdom

Standard

Reading:  His fellow citizens, however, despised him and sent a delegation after him to announce, ‘We do not want this man to be our king.’  (Luke 19:14)

Now as for those enemies of mine who did not want me as their king, bring them here and slay them before me.'”  (Luke 19:27)

Observation:  One of the youth asked me on last Sunday night about the type of action that would merit being placed in hell.  My answer was the rejection of Jesus after he has been revealed to you would be the type of action that to my mind would merit spending eternity in hell.  It sounds a little ridiculous for Jesus to be telling a story about those who did not want him as king, to a group of people that definitely wanted him to be king.  Hindsight being 20/20, it is important to note that at least one of them had their own ideas about what kind of king they expected him to be and therefore it may not be so ridiculous that he was telling his follower this parable.  It is also possible that some of them were asking the same question that this young man was asking me the other night.  What does it take to spend eternity in hell?

Personification:  Love (Charity) I think today more than any other day, I want to display the fruit of love/charity to everyone that I meet.  It will take the grace of God for me to live in the moment and always ask for his grace to be able to love and show charity to the people that come into my life today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord, please grant me the grace necessary to see everyone I meet today for the potential that you have given them and not necessarily for what they are displaying to me.  As an unworthy servant of you, I want to be able to be  humble enough, so that your will can work through me and show through me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

