Gift: Fortitude (Courage)

Standard

Why is it so hard to see Jesus weeping, but easy to visualize his laughter?

Reading:  As he drew near, he saw the city and wept over it, saying, “If this day you only knew what makes for peace–but now it is hidden from your eyes.  For the days are coming upon you when your enemies will raise a palisade against you; they will encircle you and hem you in on all sides.  They will smash you to the ground and your children within you, and they will not leave one stone upon another within you because you did not recognize the time of your visitation.”  (Luke 19:41-44)

Observation:  To me, this morning’s Gospel is talking specifically to all of the followers of Jesus, not just Jerusalem.  Personally, I can see Jesus crying over me, because I don’t understand what it takes for peace in my life.  I know that the Word of God is revealing it to me everyday, yet I still try and rationalize and justify my own actions because of what other people’s expectations are or because of my lack of internal fortitude to follow the will of God completely.  I don’t want to see the world destroyed like Jerusalem was, so for my part, I will try and follow his example and try and bring peace through love to the part of the world that this little worthless sinner can effect.

Personification:  Peace  Jesus revealed to us how to bring peace to the earth.  I am feeling called in a special way this morning to be displaying the fruit of peace to everyone that I meet today and for the rest of my life on earth.  I take solace in the fact that once I have passed on to the Father, if I am allowed to stay in His presence, he will have made me a perfect instrument of His peace.

Prayer:  Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace.
Where there is hatred . . . let me sow love
Where there is injury . . . pardon
Where there is doubt . . . faith
Where there is despair . . . hope
Where there is darkness . . . light
Where there is sadness . . . joy
O, Divine Master,
Grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled . . . as to console
To be understood . . . as to understand,
To be loved . . . as to love
For it is in giving . . . that we receive,
It is in pardoning, that we are pardoned,
It is in dying . . . that we are born to eternal life.

In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Gift: Fortitude (Courage)

  1. jeremy roebuck

    a simple comment this morning. i want to know that i really look forward to these readings everyday. i may not comment all the time, but im reading them.

    God bless you brother and may his peace be with you today and always.

Leave a Reply

