Gift: Understanding

Standard

Reading:  Jesus said to them, “The children of this age marry and remarry; but those who are deemed worthy to attain to the coming age and to the resurrection of the dead neither marry nor are given in marriage.  They can no longer die, for they are like angels; and they are the children of God because they are the ones who will rise.  That the dead will rise even Moses made known in the passage about the bush, when he called ‘Lord’ the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob; and he is not God of the dead, but of the living, for to him all are alive.”   (Luke 20: 34-38)

Observation:  This was Jesus’ response to a question from the Sadducees about marriage in the next life.  I am hearing this morning that the Word of God is telling me to not be so sensitive about what others tell me about their faith.  Someone had noted in a picture that my wife did of an incredible young man that passed on to the next life at the end of last summer, that the wings she put on him are not accurate, since we don’t literally get wings we go to heaven.  It made me feel wierd every time I showed the picture to anyone, as if I was teaching something about our faith incorrectly.  However, this Gospel reading today shows that Jesus used this reference of being like angels, to explain those that are deemed worthy of the coming age.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude)  I will work on my ability to deal with other people today while displaying the fruit of long-suffering or positive attitude.  As always, it will take the grace of God to be able to deal with some people that come at me as if nothing I ever do is right.  I know that I must be willing to listen to everyone, but I need God’s grace to understand that it is not the will of God for me to be constantly second guessing the decisions that I make in order to be overly sensitive to opinions that aren’t even rooted in the Word of God.

Prayer:  Lord, please give me the strength to stay positive about the decisions that I make in direct response to the will of God, and help me to not second guess your directions.  I ask this in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

