Gift: Piety (Reverence)

Standard

The prophet Daniel from the Sistine Chapel…Artist…Michelangelo…

Reading: Then Daniel said to the steward whom the chief chamberlain had put in charge of Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah, “Please test your servants for ten days. Give us vegetables to eat and water to drink. Then see how we look in comparison with the other young men who eat from the royal table, and treat your servants according to what you see.” He acceded to this request, and tested them for ten days; after ten days they looked healthier and better fed than any of the young men who ate from the royal table.  (Daniel 1:12-15)

Observation: This morning I am hearing from this first reading that I actually listened to first at our Communion service at the chapel today.  Since I did not get a chance to journal before I left this morning, but it was nice to actually hear the reading this morning for a change rather than reading it for myself.  It was on hearing the Lector this morning say that Daniel and his companions only needed vegetables that I felt like they were showing what an example of faith looks like, as it relates to what kind of food you put in your body.

Personification: Self-Control  I will take this reading this morning as a wake up call to what types of things that I choose to put in my body.  It will take the fruit of self-control and the grace of God to choose to eat what I know is right versus what I know I would really enjoy to eat.  Moderation is the key here, so that I don’t make everyone around me feel guilty for eating whatever they want.

Prayer: Lord, help me to control my appetite for the desires of my eyes, and give me the grace necessary to only eat those things that I know are providing for the building up of the temple that God created in me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

