Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Standard

File:The rock of the Dome of the Rock Corrected.JPG.jpg

The foundation stone – upon which the temple did stand…

Reading:  “All that you see here–the days will come when there will not be left a stone upon another stone that will not be thrown down.”  (Luke 21:6)

Observation:  The prophecy must have been hard to hear for those people that centered their lives around worshipping God in the temple of Jerusalem.  As much as hearing it was hard for them, I should react in great amazement at the fact that it has turned out exactly as Jesus predicted.  More than the Old Testament Bible prophecy that many scholars say could be related to many different things throughout history, this prophecy was exactly related to what will happen to the building that they were standing in front of.

Personification:  Peace  I will work today and for the rest of my life to display the fruit of peace that comes from knowing that God is in control of everything, including me.  If I am truly a disciple of Jesus Christ, then my actions are not under my own control, they are under the control of the Father.  I pray the Our Father prayer, as Jesus taught us, to show my sincere hope that His will is done in my life and not my own.

Prayer:  Our Father, Who is in heaven,
Holy is Your Name;
Your kingdom come,
Your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our sins,
as we forgive those who sin against us;
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil. Amen.

I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

(note from website that I copied the prayer from this morning)

The Our Father is based on these passages from the Bible: 

 Matthew 6:9-13 and Luke 11:2-4

Leave a Reply

