Gift: Fortitude

Standard

Healed ten lepers going to show themselves to the priest…one gives thanks?

Reading:  Jesus said in reply, “Ten were cleansed, were they not? Where are the other nine?  Has none but this foreigner returned to give thanks to God?”  Then he said to him, “Stand up and go; your faith has saved you.”   (Luke 17:17-19)

Observation:  I am reading this Gospel story this morning like a parable.  I don’t know if it is meant to be read because of the actual events, but I am reading another message this morning, a subtext if you will.  I wonder if they all knew that Jesus had already healed them, or for what else would they be going to show themselves to the priest.  This foreigner does not continue to the priests because he is not one of them, but also because he realizes that he must give thanks to the one who saved him from this awful affliction.  Why did the others not return to give him thanks or at least give him thanks before they left?

Personification:  Joy  Today is Thanksgiving Day, so it seems only appropriate that I act with the fruit of Joy in my heart towards all things.  My family will start off this morning with giving thanks to God at Mass at Saint Alice Catholic Church.  It seems a little self serving that we will be able to receive his body and blood in Communion, but I would hope that I could do so with Joy in my heart and show everyone this morning and for the rest of my life, what it looks like to be thankful that God saved me from my sins by sending his only begotten Son to die for me and offer himself to me in Communion every day.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that this Eucharistic celebration at our church be one that truly shows that we are thankful to you for bringing us this far and your grace fills my heart with the joy that comes from you.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

