Gift: Understanding

Standard

Reading:  “Beware that your hearts do not become drowsy from carousing and drunkenness and the anxieties of daily life, and that day catch you by surprise like a trap. For that day will assault everyone who lives on the face of the earth.  Be vigilant at all times and pray that you have the strength to escape the tribulations that are imminent and to stand before the Son of Man.”  (Luke 21:34-36)

Observation:  I am very happy that I found this video reflection today from Father David at the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.  (Here is the video…)  He does a great job explaining the fact that we should be looking at today like it is New Year’s Eve, because on the liturgical calendar today marks the end of the year.  Since Jesus is talking about in this Gospel reading what we should not be doing in order that we would not be prepared for the end day, I am going to focus my attention today on where God would expect his Son’s disciple to be on the last day.

Personification:    Love (Charity)  In order to display the fruit of love and charity to everyone today, I would need God’s grace in a very real way.  Since I have the in-laws over today and it never seems to go according to plan, what I am feeling called to today is to love them all regardless of their circumstance and maybe God will reward me by allowing to have some quiet time with Him tonight.  We have already opened up our home to them, my challenge now is to continue to make them feel welcome and loved, even their dog.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to show your love and charity to everyone that I come in contact with today.  Please allow me to show the fruit of love in a real way to my wife’s family.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

