Gift: Knowledge

Standard

Happy St Andrew’s Day…

Reading:  At once they left their nets and followed him.  (Matthew 4:20)

Observation:  It is the intention of the author of the Gospel of Matthew to illustrate the mysterious power behind the call of Jesus to his followers.  Although, in Luke’s Gospel he makes it very clear that there was a great miracle that happened to them which drew them to Jesus.  Personally, like most people that have been called into ministry, I feel like I can map out the path that eventually drew me to be a follower of Jesus, but I think it is important to note that, like the account of the call in the Gospel of Matthew, it is still quite a mystery how I was able to respond to the call that originally set me on my current path.  The fishermen had lives that they had to leave behind to follow Jesus, and I had no formal training in the faith to accept any of what I was hearing.  It is still a mystery, but also quite clear that God has a purpose for everyone.

Personification:  Chastity  I always find it strange when God is calling me to focus on the fruit of chastity.  I guess I find it hard to believe that He would want me to share with the world how the fruit of chastity looks in my life.  However, just like all of the rest of the fruits of the Holy Spirit, I am being asked to put them on display in order that Jesus can be visible through me.  I do not feel as inclined to implore God for the grace necessary to display this fruit today and for the rest of my life, because I know that He is already giving me the grace necessary.  I guess more that any other fruit of the Holy Spirit for me and for a few of my friends from my scripture lunch on Fridays, chastity is one that is hard to display completely in our mind.  It is only by the grace of God that I am not allowed to let my mind wander in places that I know that it should not go.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to supply me with the grace necessary to keep my mind and body under your control and allow my thoughts to stay pure today.  I know that it is only by your grace that I am healed from all of my past offenses and would ask that you continue to guide me in your ways to keep me pure in regards to chastity.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

