Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Standard

I wanted to post the message from the Holy Father…

Reading:  On that day it will be said: “Behold our God, to whom we looked to save us! This is the LORD for whom we looked; let us rejoice and be glad that he has saved us!”  (Isaiah 25:9)

Observation:  In the Gospel reading from the book of Matthew for today, Jesus is performing great miracles of healing and providing for the needs of the many.  I have heard the story many times before, but this morning I am struck by the fact that not only did Isaiah and other prophets tell the Israelites that it was going to happen, Isaiah is telling us today that we should be rejoicing because he has saved us.  Where would I be right now without the Lord in my life?  He has saved me from the selfishness and greed that make this world go around.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  It will be my focus today and for the rest of my life on the fact that God has saved me from myself.  Hopefully, with the grace of God, I will be able to display the fruit of humility and gentleness by constantly recognizing that the life that I would have without Jesus would be one of want and need, hunger and greed.  With Jesus in my life, I hope that the life I have will be surrounded by good friends and a community that supports each other in their time of need and comes together to celebrate the good news whenever possible.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay humble and always remember that it is God that gave me the free gift of salvation and not anything that I did to be worthy of being saved.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

