Gift: Fortitude (Courage)

Standard

Reading:  “Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who built his house on rock.  The rain fell, the floods came, and the winds blew and buffeted the house. But it did not collapse; it had been set solidly on rock.  And everyone who listens to these words of mine but does not act on them will be like a fool who built his house on sand.  The rain fell, the floods came, and the winds blew and buffeted the house. And it collapsed and was completely ruined.”  (Matthew 7:24-27)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning a call to be even more connected to the Word of God.  In this Gospel reading from the book of Matthew this morning, Jesus is saying that listening to the words is not enough.  Rather, I must be willing to act on every Word that I hear.  In a way, it is like listening to someone telling you a moving story about a person in need and then saying, “Isn’t that nice?”  and not doing anything about it. 

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity  It will be my focus today and for the rest of my life to display the fruit of faith and fidelity to the Word of God.  Every word that I hear speaking to me from the Word of God I will work tirelessly to try and apply it to my life.  If I want to be like the house built on rock, this is what I must do.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay faithful to your Word every day of my life and show you fidelity to the call that you gave me.  Please continue to grant me the grace necessary to follow through with my commitment to be faithful to your Word.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Gift: Fortitude (Courage)

  1. mary netherton

    Hi Jason, I so enjoy reading your daily words. Here is something I read today and I really liked it. It goes along with putting the word into action.
    The rock of our spiritual life is hearing the word of Jesus and putting the word into inward and outward practice. Hearing the word is to receieve the word more and more into the levels of our consciousness. It is to allow the word to be a seed that issues into love. The word of Jesus planted in the heart becomes love. Then the word moves to form our behavior. Slowly our way of thinking, speaking and acting is changed. We have become a house built on rock. Inwardly and outwardly our house stands against all that threatens it. The kingdom is to hear and do the will of the Father in heaven.Thus we live in God’s house built on rock. Love, Mary

Leave a Reply

