Gift: Knowledge

Standard

I didn’t see Vol. I & II, but if this picture is any indication, I would love to see them…You can order the book by clicking the link that is attached to the image…No, I am not trying to profit from it, I just love this picture…

(I think this picture perfectly shows the face of the Redeemer that I vision in my mind.)

Reading:  But that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins”–he said to the man who was paralyzed, “I say to you, rise, pick up your stretcher, and go home.   (Luke 5:24)

Observation:  This morning, I am reassured that the idea that I relayed to the youth that are preparing for the Sacrament of Confirmation last night is the truth.  It is a very powerful thing to say to someone or a group of people that the Son of God revealed the true nature of who he was while he was walking on the earth.  I guess it is not so much the fact that he did it, but rather the vision that I have of our Redeemer is that he was very humble, so it is hard to envision someone with so much humility revealing the truth of who he was in such a bold way.  The reality is that in the Gospel reading today, as it is with most of the scripture text, although it is the divinely inspired Word of God, it is also written by men who had an evangelistic goal to accomplish in their own time.  So, the boldness that I perceive may just be a message to those people that the authors of the different Gospels were trying to get across to the human authority of their time. 

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness) It is my intention to model my own behavior on Jesus.  In order to display the fruit of humility and gentleness, I will need the grace of God today and for the rest of my life.  I guess I have written that so much, it would be easy to think that I am just writing it as an exercise in futility.  However, the amazing thing is that the more I write it, the clearer the path becomes to receiving his grace.  I know that by participating in the Sacrament of the Eucharist daily that I do receive his grace.  Also, by staying true to the Word of God becomes easier with the grace that I am given as a free gift by just showing up and participating in the Mass, Communion Service or just in my daily prayers.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay not only in your Word but to make every one of your Words come alive in my life and in the lives of those around me.  Please supply me with the grace necessary to show true humility and gentleness to my family first and then to our parish community and anyone that I come in contact with today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

