Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Standard

An example of the work still being done in the name of the Immaculate Conception…

Monastery Immaculate Conception – Indiana, USA

Reading:  Mary said, “Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.” Then the angel departed from her.  (Luke 1:38)

Observation:  Today, I am hearing in the Gospel reading the perfect example of obedience from our holy Mother.  Even when confronted with every obstacle imaginable to a young Jewish woman, she accepts the will of the Father completely.  I think it is important to note that she doesn’t say that I guess I will try to make the best of this bad situation, but rather accepts the will of the Father and states her position according to the Lord who is calling her to this great duty of acceptance of bearing a son who will be the Redeemer of the whole world.

Personification:  Modesty  I am hearing the call to display the fruit of modesty from the example that was set by the Virgin Mary.  In order to be modest, I am thankful that the grace of God to help focus my will on his rather than my own.  In order to keep me humble in doing his work and understanding, it is by no means my works that determine my direction in life, rather the will of the Father that determines the path that I take.  It is my job to be submissive, like the Virgin Mary, to his will.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on your will today and for the rest of my life.  Please direct my attention to the example of the Our Mother today on the occasion of the celebration of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

