Remember Jesus, in times of temptation…He’s been there…

Standard

Scripture:  Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.  (Hebrews 2:18)

&

Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has gone through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet was without sin. Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.  (Hebrews 4:14-16)

Observation:  When I look back on my last sin, I am left wondering why I didn’t remember Jesus before I sinned.  It seems to me that the readings are telling me today that I still have maturing to do in my faith, if I do not remember Jesus in my time of weakness.  I certainly see now after reading these readings from the book of Hebrews again today, why there is so much power in the name of Jesus.  I have gone through my whole life listening to others or even myself cheapen the name of Jesus by using it in vain.  When was the last time I called on Jesus in my time of weakness? 

Application:  It will be my focus to call on the name of Jesus when I need to be brought through any time of weakness in terms of temptation.  It has been easy for me to focus on him when I am strong lately, but this reading today has helped me to remember to specifically call on him when I am weak.

Prayer:  Jesus, thank you for bringing me through my sinfulness to your grace.  I am sorry for not always remembering to call on you when I needed you, and I am sorry for not completely trusting you.  Jesus, I will trust in you now and forever.  Jesus, please save me from myself, in all times and in all situations keep my focus on you…In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

