Gift: Piety

Standard

Reading: I see him, though not now; I behold him, though not near: A star shall advance from Jacob, and a staff shall rise from Israel, That shall smite the brows of Moab, and the skulls of all the Shuthites, Till Edom is dispossessed, and no fugitive is left in Seir. Israel shall do valiantly, and Jacob shall overcome his foes.  (Numbers 24:17a)

Observation: I just happened to be reading about the prophets in the Saint Mary’s College Study Bible this morning.  It mentioned that most of the prophets did not prophesy of distant future events, but rather events that were imminent.  I guess you could say that Balaam was not a prophet of the order of the Hebrew people, therefore he does not follow the same pattern, or you could just say that he was speaking of an eventual return to glory of the Israelites that did not require a Messiah.  If I remember correctly, David was from the house of Jacob.  Anyway, it is not important, in my opinion, for today’s reading about whom he was speaking, rather that he was speaking at all, that is important.

I think we should all join Father Barron, as modern day Balaam, to tell the world the good news…

Personification: Love (Charity)  It was easy to choose a fruit of the spirit to focus on today, since my reflection today that I read from the Living Faith daily reflections from Sister Melanie was about love.  She used a quote from Saint John of the Cross that, I think, embodies the true spirit of the love…”Where there is no love, put love—and you will find love.”

Prayer: Lord, work on my heart to make me always remember the words of Saint John of the Cross today and for the rest of my life.  Saint John of the Cross, pray for us that we may be a church filled with God’s love.  I pray today, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

