Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Standard

File:Zephaniah.jpg

An 18th century Russian icon of the prophet Zephaniah

Reading: On that day You need not be ashamed of all your deeds, your rebellious actions against me;   (Zephaniah 3:11a)

&

The LORD has eyes for the just and ears for their cry.

When the just cry out, the LORD hears and rescues them from all distress.

The LORD redeems loyal servants; no one is condemned whose refuge is God.  (Psalm 34:16,18 and 23)

&

He said in reply, ‘I will not,’ but afterwards he changed his mind and went.  (Matthew 21:29)

Observation: I am reading this morning that we are called to turn away from our sinfulness and repent of those sins joyfully.  God was calling everyone in the first reading in Zephaniah, even those that had been rebellious…I qualify…In the Responsorial Psalm today, God says that he will rescue those that cry out…In the Gospel reading today, Jesus is telling us that even though we had initially said no to the will of the Father, it is the act of changing our mind to accept the will now that is the act of repentance that he is looking for.

Personification: Modesty  It is my focus today to act with the fruit of modesty in everything that I do.  Since it is not my will that I want to be done in my life, I will need the grace of God to keep focused on what his will is for me, rather than following my own will.

Prayer: Lord, help me to stay focused on you today and for the rest of my life.  Please allow me to see your will and help me to follow it.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

