Jesus knows us all…

Standard

Scripture: But Jesus would not trust himself to them because he knew them all, and did not need anyone to testify about human nature.  He himself understood it well.  (John 2:24-25)

Observation: Later in the fourth chapter, Jesus says that unless the people see signs and wonders they will not believe.  Even though he was speaking to a different group in the verses above from the 2nd chapter of John, I think the allusion to the faulty human nature is the same.  I was struck this morning by the fact that Jesus knows us even now, after over 2000 years of performing miracles in people lives, we are still waiting for a sign or a wonder to prove somehow that he is the Christ and that he is coming back.

Application: I have been told that I have a faith that abandons this earthly life and focuses only on the spiritual. Even if this is true, I want to be able to do this more in my life.  I want to lose track of where I want to go and lose myself completely in God’s will.

Prayer: Lord, please supply me with the grace necessary to bring joy to others by living out your will for me in my life today, and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

