Gift: Fortitude

Standard

Reading:  Then, when his days of ministry were completed, he went home.  After this time his wife Elizabeth conceived, and she went into seclusion for five months, saying, “So has the Lord done for me at a time when he has seen fit to take away my disgrace before others.”  (Luke 23-25)

Observation:  I included the fact that Zachariah returned home at the beginning of the reflection today because of the fact that it is at home that I have the biggest chance for anxiety in my life.  This morning, I am reminded of the healing and redemptive power of God from the words from Elizabeth here in these verses.  She does not say that she is so glad that God recognized her piety and observance of the commandments and honored her with a child.  Rather, she said that God saw fit to do it of his own volition, so that she no longer was disgraced before others.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  I am feeling the special call to display the fruit of humility with everyone around me.  I will need his grace to be able to be like Elizabeth in recognizing that it is not because of anything that I have done that deserves the saving power of God to redeem my life in what ever way he decides to, or even if he decides to redeem my life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to keep your faith in the forefront of my mind.  I wish to be ever focused on your will, so that my will is not in the way.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

