Gift: Knowledge

Standard

Reading:  Good and upright is the LORD, who shows sinners the way,

Guides the humble rightly, and teaches the humble the way.  (Psalm 25:8-9)

Observation:  Ok, I know that I am a sinner, but the humble part I struggle with.  The LORD is good and upright, I am a sinner…I got that part down.  The LORD is working on me to make me humble.  We still have a lot of earthly riches in my family, and it is hard to be humble about them when you were not raised with them.  As always, I will be relying on the grace of God to teach me how to be humble when we have been blessed with so much.

Personification:  Modesty  It is pretty obvious that the fruit that I feel called to display is the fruit of modesty.  I know that I have the ability to be prideful about the accomplishments of my past, I will need God’s grace to be modest about where it all comes from.  I find myself, at times, acting as if I have done something to deserve the wonderful things that we possess.  The truth is that it is by the grace of God that we have anything…A house, car and all the gifts that we have to give to others for Christmas.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruit of modesty as it relates to every gift that I have been given, both physically and spiritually.  Keep me focused on using the things of this world to bring greater glory to you, my Almighty Father.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

