Gift: Understanding

Standard

The text from the picture is from the same book of Samuel that gave us the first reading today, and I found it when I searched for an image from the text from the Gospel reading today…(horn of salvation…hmmm…)

Reading:  He has raised up a horn for our salvation within the house of David his servant, even as he promised through the mouth of his holy prophets from of old:   (Luke 1:68-69)

&

And you, child, will be called prophet of the Most High, for you will go before the Lord to prepare his ways, to give his people knowledge of salvation through the forgiveness of their sins,  (Luke 1:76-77)

Observation:  We didn’t have Mass this morning at Saint Alice, because we will actually have three Masses this evening for Christmas Eve.  However, I think the readings this morning are very important for me to hear, in that they specifically speak to the fact that the redeemer is prophesied by Nathan as coming from the house of David in the first reading from the 2nd book of Samuel and his way is going to be prepared by his cousin is prophesied by Zachariah, John’s Father, in the Gospel reading from the book of Luke.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  Today, I feel called to remember the words of the priest at the Mass that I attended yesterday at St Mary’s church.  He said that we should look to John the Baptist to see how we should act with humility.  John the Baptist words during his ministry that, “He must increase and I must decrease” is a phrase that I would love to be able to pattern my own ministry after, in both my home and my church.

Prayer:  Lord, I am thankful to you for coming to us in the form of a baby to remind us of the fact that it is in our humility that we can share the message of salvation with others.  Please help me to stay focused on your message always and never get too caught up in what I am trying to say.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

