Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Standard

Today is the feast day of the Holy Family…

Reading: My son, take care of your father when he is old; grieve him not as long as he lives.  Even if his mind fail, be considerate with him; revile him not in the fullness of your strength.  (Sirach 3:12-13)

Observation: I am hearing in this first choice for the first reading today, that I must seek out my Father to take care of him.  I pray for him every day, but I am hearing in this reading today that I have a special obligation to not grieve him and to make sure that I don’t revile him in the fullness of my strength.

Personification: Peace  I can’t remember the last time I chose peace as the fruit of the spirit to focus on for the day.  I guess it is the fact that if I can make peace with my Father than I can have peace that comes from the Holy Spirit residing in me.  I don’t know if this makes sense, but I am feeling called today to open myself up to all of the failings of my life, so that I can be a true disciple of Jesus Christ.

Prayer: Lord, help me to be more open to revealing the truths of my past to anyone who wants to hear it, so that your spirit can flow through me to them, and I can better reveal the truth of your good news to them.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

