Gift: Wisdom

Standard

File:Michelangelo Buonarroti 027.jpg

The figure of Jeremiah on the Sistine Chapel ceiling, by Michelangelo.

Reading:  Then was fulfilled what had been said through Jeremiah the prophet:  “A voice was heard in Ramah, sobbing and loud lamentation; Rachel weeping for her children, and she would not be consoled, since they were no more.”  (Matthew 2:17-18)

Observation:  As I was reading this morning, I remembered the last time that I read this chapter in the book of Matthew.  I don’t know if it was in Mass and I heard a homily on it, or if it was in the footnotes of the bible that I was reading, but I read an explanation of why the author of the book of Matthew would talk about Rachel weeping.  It may have actually been when I was reading the book of Jeremiah and read the fact that Rachel was from Bethlehem and the author describes her weeping because it would be her descendents that would be killed by Herod when he orders the slaughter of the innocent children in Bethlehem.

Personification:  Chastity  In order to display the fruit of chastity in my life, as always I will need the grace of the Lord.  In a world that is so full of things that would entice a man to lust, especially in his eyes, it is only by the grace of God that I do not find myself constantly in a state of sin where lust is concerned.  I am truly thankful to God for giving me my wife to be my partner in life and allowing me to share God’s real gift of love with her.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for helping me to come to a better understanding of your love in my life and giving me a wonderful family to share your love with.  Please help me to continue to share your love with everyone that I meet and do not allow me to think like this world thinks as it relates to your love.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

