Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Standard

A different version of the same video I posted with the same message from a late Pastor…(The other version came up when I searched for “because you know him who is from the beginning”, and I saw this other version when I clicked on the first version to watch it on youtube.)

Reading:  I am writing to you, fathers, because you know him who is from the beginning.  I write to you, fathers, because you know him who is from the beginning.  (1 John 2:13a,14b)

Observation:  Either, there was something lost in translation in the first reading today from the book of 1st John, or it is pretty obvious that I should be hearing a clear message this morning.  The Word of God is telling me this morning that He knows that I know him who is from the beginning.  Now, I guess there are two ways that I can take this and since it is written twice, I am going to accept both ways of understanding.  There is a sense of fear that overcomes me to know that God knows that I know him who is from the beginning, because of the expectation that I assume He has of me.  There is also a sense of happiness and joy to know that as a father of three boys, I know him who is from the beginning.

Personification:  Love (Charity)  It is my hope that in knowing him who is from the beginning that means that I can assume that I will be endowed with the grace necessary to display the fruit of love to everyone that I meet today and for the rest of my life.  Since God is love, I know him, my task in displaying the fruit of love should be to bring everyone I meet to know Him.  In knowing God, I will further assume that his love should flow from me abundantly in order to show others his love.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to grow in your love, so that I can give your love to others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

