Gift: Piety

Standard

Reading:  So you are no longer a slave but a child, and if a child then also an heir, through God.  (Galatians 4:7)

Observation:  Today, I am hearing from the Word that I should see myself as an heir of the Kingdom of God.  I make decisions that will impact the Kingdom for years to come.  I should remember that if I am to inherit the Kingdom while I am still in this world, I must keep his commandments.  Although in an earlier verse, Paul says that we are ransomed, that does not mean that I should not be looking for ways to follow the law more clearly.  Rather, I should walk in the knowledge that I know the price has already been paid for my past mistakes.

Personification:  Joy  I am feeling a call to display the fruit of joy in my life.  The knowledge of being ransomed for all of my past sins should be enough to cause me to be overjoyed.  However, my sinful nature does not let me revel too long in the joy that comes from that knowledge.  Therefore, I will need God’s overflowing grace to be able to display the fruit of joy to everyone that I meet today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to feel real joy in my life by helping me to give that joy to others that I come in contact with, because I will need your grace to not dwell on my sinfulness and see that you want me to be a messenger of the good news.  I ask this in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

