Gift: Piety

Standard

Although this is the Holy Father words from yesterday’s Mass at St Peter’s, I believe it relates to exactly why I feel like I should be hearing the call to follow the church and the Word more closely in my life.  (I also love the video of St Peter’s in Rome and I will use whatever excuse I can to post it.)

Reading:  Let what you heard from the beginning remain in you. If what you heard from the beginning remains in you, then you will remain in the Son and in the Father.  And this is the promise that he made us: eternal life.  (1 John 2:24-25)

Observation:  The admonition that I am hearing this morning is that now that I am aware that I know him who is from the beginning, I must let what he said remain in me.  Meaning that all that he gave us through the church and all that he actually said, should become every part of my whole being.  As the 25th verse says, he has promised that eternal life is what waits for me if I can do this, and it is not a quantity but a quality of life that he is speaking of here.  As John the Baptist says in the Gospel reading from the Gospel of John today, I feel like John the Baptist in that I am not worthy to untie the sandals of his feet, but I hope he supplies me with the grace necessary to follow his footsteps.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude)  It seems like whenever I feel like God is revealing a truth to me, like he has been for the past three days, that is when I must remember to display the fruit of long-suffering or I should be recognizing that I must display a positive attitude through whatever trials that may come my way.  I guess, today especially, I feel like I should be getting the message that the eternal life, that comes from following the will of God in my own life, will not be easy, but I should remember that just being on the path that he prepared for me will continue to give me great joy.

Prayer:  Lord, bring me a new sense of understanding as it relates to following your will for me and allow me to display the fruit of long-suffering to everyone that I meet today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

