We three Kings…

Standard

Epiphany (Bosch painting)

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  that the Gentiles are coheirs, members of the same body, and copartners in the promise in Christ Jesus through the gospel.  (Ephesians 3:6)

Observation:  I guess this verse jumped out at me today to give me a clearer picture of what the Epiphany means to all of us.  It only makes sense that God would want to save all of his people, but how do you go from having a favorite people in Israel, to now saying to everyone that you are now heirs in the kingdom?  These words of Paul in this letter to the Ephesians is a pretty good way, but the idea that three kings from far away countries came to pay homage to this Christ Jesus at his birth is amazing.  Either way that I come to accept that Jesus Christ is my king, the important thing is that I accept the fact that he came for all of us, even if we live in Springfield, Oregon.

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity  In order to be able to display faith and fidelity to the Word of God, I must remember to stay in it.  It may sound ridiculous for me to remind myself to stay in the Word, but I honestly feel like as long as I live on this earth, that I must continue to read the bible because it is the only way to keep the other voices of this world out of my head.

Prayer:  Lord, please supply me with the grace necessary to always stay faithful to your Word and never let me be too far from your Word that I want to guide my every move in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

