Why is my heart still hardened?

Standard

God is good…All the time…(This is the video I found when I searched, “hardening of hearts” – great message…)

Gift:  Fear of the Lord

Reading:  They had not understood the incident of the loaves. 24 On the contrary, their hearts were hardened.  (Mark 6:52)

Observation:  This incident in the Marcan account of the Gospel story always leads me first to ask how could the disciples hearts still be hardened after watching the miracle of the loaves and fish and then the walking on the water.  This morning, after reading this verse again in the Gospel reading for today’s Mass, I am reminded of the fact that I still do not completely trust that Jesus Christ is the Son of God either.  If I did, I would seek him out in all things, rather than seek out my own interest in all things.

Personification:  Self-Control  I will need the grace of God to take the next step in my spiritual journey into displaying the fruit of Self-Control in my life.  If I am going to learn to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities, I will have to take my daily planning much more seriously.  It sounds like a simple thing, but it can bring order to my life, if I can do it with the grace of God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to find the time today and for the rest of my life to prioritize the things that I have to do in order to bring focus to my following of your call more specifically in every aspect of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

