Jesus, the Prophet?

Standard

The song says what we do when we don’t recognize all that God does for us…

Gift:  Fortitude

Reading:  “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, 9 because he has anointed me to bring glad tidings to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, and to proclaim a year acceptable to the Lord.”  (Luke 4:18-19)

Observation:  Whenever I remember reading this passage before, I remember hearing Jesus read something that says that he is the Son of God.  It strikes me this morning that I am hearing for the first time that Jesus was prophetically speaking about his ministry in the manner of Elijah and Elisha as prophet.  It is easy to see Jesus as a Messiah or Savior, but much more difficult to see that he was a prophet to his own people.  I guess in light of the fact that the Israelites had eventually rejected all of their prophets too, it should be easier to see Jesus as a prophet.

Personification:  Love (Charity)  The definition of love (charity) from the format for journaling has provided the context for displaying this fruit today and for the rest of my life.  If I can continue to sense the needs of others around me, and this need overwhelms my will to act on my own behalf, than I can be assured of the fact that I am acting in God’s will and not my own. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to understand the real needs of others around me and allow me to see that I can act out of love for them by providing for their needs with the grace provided by God for all the strength I will need to accomplish any task.  I ask this, as always,  in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Obser

2 thoughts on “Jesus, the Prophet?

  1. jeremy roebuck

    yanno that the muslim faith regards Jesus as a prophet also. the difference is that they do not see him as the son of God.

    To understand that Jesus was sent to recieve and purge our sins
    in order to allow us into the kingdom is what makes us Christians. However, to know that God is the truth and light is the basis for faith.

    lord help me to understand why faith does not allow one to stand in the light; only by recieving the light through our savior can the darkness be shed. in the name of the father, the son, and the holy spirit… amen

    love you bro

  2. Thank you for getting the point of the post today…It is comments like this that tell me that you need to get your butt into the church, because there are people dying to hear the good news like you tell it…God bless you…

Leave a Reply

