Reminder to ask for what we need…

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  And we have this confidence in him, that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in regard to whatever we ask, we know that what we have asked him for is ours.  (1 John 5:14-15)

Observation:  As I heard this reading this morning at Mass, I was reminded of the fact that I should not feel anxiety about the things that I need to take care of my family.  If I ever need anything, I need only remember that if I ask according to his will, he will hear me.  If I know he hears me, I should act as if it is already done and therefore there is no reason to have anxiety.

Personification:  Peace  In order to display the fruit of peace in my life, I must act with confidence in the knowledge that God will provide for all of the needs of my family.  This doesn’t mean that I can slow down in my ambition to work hard and contribute to the welfare of our family with what God has gifted me with the ability to do, but I can’t be worried about anything that I feel like I need to provide for my family because it is God again that will provide it.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to lay down my will to be a provider for my family, since I know that I would have nothing without you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

