Repent, and believe in the Gospel…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  “This is the time of fulfillment. The kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel.”  (Mark 1:15)

Observation:  If I hadn’t put the reference to the book, chapter and verse above, you may think these were words from the early church in the book of Acts.  It is actually the author of the Gospel of Mark speaking about Jesus when he first started his active ministry in Galilee.  I was saying a couple of days ago, how I sometimes find it hard to see Jesus as a prophet, it shouldn’t be hard anymore, since these are some pretty true, but also very prophetic words from Jesus before he has even called his apostles to follow him.

Personification:  Goodness  If I am going to display goodness, I will more than ever need the grace that comes from the sacramental life in order to accomplish this task.  However, if I am going to take a cue from Jesus words today from the Gospel of Mark, I should be able to act as if the Kingdom of God is at hand if I am living in a state of repentance and I believe in the Gospel.

Prayer:  Lord, grant me the strength to live like you are with me at all times, because I know you are.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

