Overwhelmed by my sinful nature…

Standard

The video reflection from today’s readings can be found by:  Clicking Here!

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Reading:  Jesus rebuked him and said, “Quiet! Come out of him!”  (Mark 1:25)

Observation:  This morning I was feeling overwhelmed by my sinful nature as I read this verse from the Gospel reading for today.  The thought came over me after listening to the video reflection from Father John Durbin of the Diocese of Raleigh, that any time I feel overwhelmed by my sinful nature, I need only remember the words of Jesus.  It may help if I can close my eyes and envision Jesus actually saying the words in red above.  The reflection deals with using our gift that we receive from God in order to be the authority like Jesus and Pope John XXIII and Mother Teresa were in their own time and place, and I recommend taking the three minutes to watch it.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude)  I have been told before that I have the uncanny ability to look into the face of adversity and laugh.  Actually, I am hoping that my own adversity in life can be a source of healing for others that see what I have been through and recognize that complete reliance on God will get them through anything.  This Sunday’s Mass readings are looking like they have the ability to shake me from my sleep as far as utilizing my gifts go, but I thank God that he is doing a work in me now and not waiting until this weekend.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see the gift that you have given me and allow me to follow your will more closely by sharing this gift with everyone I meet for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

