Am I listening to my call?

Standard

I love the sound of the reading of the book of Samuel, even though I don’t necessarily like the translation…Contrast this reading to the Gospel here (Gospel link) and notice how Samuel had to be told that the Lord was calling him, because he didn’t recognize his call at first but Jesus just made a proclamation of his purpose…

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Readings: Samuel grew up, and the LORD was with him, not permitting any word of his to be without effect.  Thus all Israel from Dan to Beer-sheba came to know that Samuel was an accredited prophet of the LORD.  (1 Samuel 3:19-20)

&

He told them, “Let us go on to the nearby villages that I may preach there also. For this purpose have I come.” (Mark 1:38)

Observation: I find it interesting to contrast the story of Samuel’s calling with Jesus’ proclamation of his purpose.  It is interesting to me because at a young age Samuel did not know God was calling him to be a prophet and from a very young age, at least 12 years old, Jesus knew that he would be a preacher.  I am thankful to Jesus for coming to clear the path for revelation to come to us about our purpose in life.  We don’t have to wonder about who it is that is calling us like Samuel did.  We know that if we ask God to show us the purpose in our life, that Jesus has already shown us the way to the Father and he has asked the Father to send the Holy Spirit to be our guide.

Personification:  Kindness If you read the definition of the fruit of kindness on the format for journaling page, you will see that displaying the fruit of kindness will lead to a greater service.  The fruit of kindness is the strength of Christ’s love, and I hope that God will grant me the grace to display this fruit to everyone I meet today and in a real way to the young people that come into my life today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer: Lord grant me the grace to be able to show your kindness to the people that come into my life and thank you for leading me to a greater service in your holy name.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

