The call of the righteous…

Standard

File:Fortitude.jpg

I am hearing the call to act with courage in following the will of God, but always remembering my reliance on Jesus Christ to save me from myself…

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  Jesus heard this and said to them (that), “Those who are well do not need a physician, 11 but the sick do. I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”  (Mark 2:17)

Observation:  This verse from the Gospel reading struck me in a new way this morning.  I am hearing that although the well may not need a physician, they still need a Savior, because without the Savior, they will soon be sick again.  It is by grace and the power of the Holy Spirit that we do not constantly fall prey to our sinfulness.  I feel like I am nothing without the grace of our Lord and the peace that comes from following the lead of the Holy Spirit.

Personification:  Modesty  This is a fruit of the Holy Spirit that I am well aware of my need of a free gift of grace from the Lord in order to display in my life.  It seems whenever I am presented with someone who is much more worthy of God’s grace in my eyes, I tend to talk about the things that God has done in my life that shows that I was worthy of his grace as well.  From my observation today, I am hearing that in order to display the fruit of modesty, I need only remember that it is not by my own wellness that I recieve this grace, rather my propensity to fall back into sin that requires it, if I am to follow Jesus.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay strong in the faith and to always look for ways to build up your kingdom by strengthening others, so they can follow your path in their own lives and I can continue on the path that you have laid out for me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

