At and through the wedding…Jesus reveals his glory…

Standard

I posted this video, not so much for the song as for the reflection at the end of the song that says what I am trying to say below, he just says it better than I could…God bless you!

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  As a young man marries a virgin, your Builder shall marry you; And as a bridegroom rejoices in his bride so shall your God rejoice in you.  (Isaiah 62:5)

&

Jesus did this as the beginning of his signs 7 in Cana in Galilee and so revealed his glory, and his disciples began to believe in him.  (John 2:11)

Observation:  This morning as I chose these verses from the first reading and the Gospel reading for today’s Mass, I thought that I needed to hear my Pastor’s homily before I gave my reflection on how I heard the readings speaking to me today.   However, even after his homily, I found myself feeling the same way about the fact that when you see the people of Israel looking for the bridegroom and Jesus doing his first miracle at a wedding.  Iguess even this morning as a finish my reflection, I am still seeing the bridegroom that Israel was waiting for, being revealed in the person of Jesus Christ in all his glory at a wedding, and if nothing else, it is some real irony.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness)  I am still really tired from all of the activity yesterday, but I still felt compelled to finish my reflection from yesterday’s readings in my journal.  It is my hope that I receive the grace necessary to continue to display the fruit of humility or gentleness in all areas of my life.  Yesterday, I think I got very preachy with our Youth Ministry kids, and I hope they don’t see that as my attempt to make something more of myself than what God is calling me to be. 

Prayer:  Lord, please continue to build in me a repentant heart that is aware of all of my faults, so that I can allow you to work through me to deliver the good news to everyone who comes in my path, with the full knowledge that the ability to deliver this good news comes from you alone.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Observation: 

Leave a Reply

