Are we waiting for the stone?

Standard

 

Gift:  Wisdom

Reading: David put his hand into the bag and took out a stone, hurled it with the sling, and struck the Philistine on the forehead. The stone embedded itself in his brow, and he fell prostrate on the ground.  (1 Samuel 17:49)

Observation: The first reading struck me when I went back and read the story of David and Goliath again, as an allegory to our own salvation story.  Maybe my sins are not as big as the giant Goliath, but the real question is, if I am going to wait for the Lord to take my life before I truly develop a repentant heart?  I know the moral of the story is that David was small and Goliath great, but the power of the Lord overcame the difference in size by his power which can overcome any obstacle.  However, I am hearing after reading about another miracle in the Gospel that we should be able to look at the power of God and know that he can overcome any obstacle in our life if we give ourselves to him completely, without reservation.  In other words, lay ourselves prostrate before our Lord before we are laid prostrate before him, just like Goliath.

Personification:  Modesty This fruit of the spirit is difficult to display for me because the world revolves around wealth, power, connections and degrees.  However, I am feeling today the call to do what God is asking of me and not look to show the world how smart I am in the process.  Modesty is a difficult fruit for me and it will take the grace of God to help me display it today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer: Lord, help me to be humble in your presence and remember to give all the glory to you in all things that I do today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Are we waiting for the stone?

Leave a Reply

