Am I out of my mind, yet?

Standard

This video really touched me this morning, but if you have a few minutes for reflection, the video at the end is awesome, too…At least I thought so…God bless you for reading…

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  He came home. Again (the) crowd gathered, making it impossible for them even to eat.  When his relatives heard of this they set out to seize him, for they said, “He is out of his mind.”  (Mark 3:20-21)

Observation:  I normally pick one or two verses to reflect on in my journal, but since when I was reflecting on the second verse from the Gospel reading for today’s Mass and the first verse sets up the second and those two verses make up the Gospel reading for today, I guess I chose to reflect on the whole of the Gospel reading for today.  When I first read the line, “He is out of his mind”, I immediately thought about how in order to be like Jesus, I have to get my family to think I am out of my mind.  Since there is a very good chance that some of them already do, I decided that I need to look further into these two verses and see why they thought he was crazy.  It says, that it was impossible for them to eat, and because of this they said, “He is out of his mind.”  So, I guess when, following the will of the Father becomes extremely inconvenient, to the point of even getting in the way of our ability to eat food that we have in abundance, and our family thinks we are out of our mind for continuing to live this way, then we know we are following Jesus.

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity  To display the fruit of faith and fidelity I must remember that the call that we receive is not a call to comfort and convenience.  Rather, it is uncomfortable at times to follow God’s will and not our own and extremely inconvenient to have to think of others before we think of ourselves, and for that reason I will need the grace of God to be able to display this fruit today and for the rest of my life.  If I am committed to doing God’s work in my life and in whatever way I can, I must be willing to stand in direct opposition to almost everything that this world stands for, and that is hard but I am willing.

Prayer:  Take me Lord, I am yours.  I come to do your will.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

