The oppressed go free…

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:

  “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, 9 because he has anointed me to bring glad tidings to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, 

He said to them, “Today this scripture passage is fulfilled in your hearing.”  (Luke 4:18,21)

Observation:  As it will happen for most of us that stay in the Word of God and listen intently to what He is saying to us, God speaks through his Word in this Gospel reading today through the mouth of Jesus Christ in the synagogue in Nazareth over 2000 years ago from the book of the prophet Isaiah.  It just so happened that when Jesus stood up to read the  scroll this day, chapter 61:1 from Isaiah was given to him to read.  Jesus did, what I think he is calling us to do, when we are in the Word and find it speaking to us, He proclaimed the meaning of the Words to the people that were celebrating the sabbath in the synagogue with Him.  Unlike the early Christians, we do not have to celebrate the sabbath in the synagogues, because we have some amazing churches to attend, but the call to proclaim what the Word of God means to us is exactly the same.

Personification: Goodness – A real desire to live a holy life, to set a good example by our conduct where we are.  It is my hope that I can display goodness in my life today and for the rest of my life.  It is only by the grace of God that I can even write that I am thinking of displaying the fruit of goodness, because I am a worthless sinner.  If you read the words in the description of goodness, you see that to display this fruit we must set a good example where we are, not where we want to be, but where we are…To me, this means that I must be present for the Lord right now, not when I feel like it or when it is most comfortable, or even after I have done what I want to do, I must always be present for the Lord to do his will at every present moment.  I need not worry about the past or look to the future, but be present right now.

Prayer:  Lord, let me not take myself to seriously and help me to rely on your Word for everything in my life.  Please keep me focused on you and the fact that You fulfilled the promise of Isaiah and came to set me free from the oppression of sin.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

