Still not worthy…but it’s Good News…

Standard

Memorial of Saints Timothy and Titus, bishops

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. So do not be ashamed of your testimony to our Lord, 6 nor of me, a prisoner for his sake; but bear your share of hardship for the gospel with the strength that comes from God.  (2 Timothy 1:7-8)

Observation:  I have a t-shirt that my sister gave me with a Pontiac Transam on the front of it and it says, “Super Charged.”  The shirt has 2 Timothy 1:7 written on it as well, which I have always explained as God will give us the strength to perservere through any of our fears, because he did not make us to cowar in fear, but he made us to love.  Personally, I have always looked to this verse to say that God also made me with the self-control to overcome my sinful nature as well.  I guess it remains to be seen, whether or not my interpretation of the end of that verse means what I think it means…However, I am hearing this morning that God is asking me to not be ashamed of the Gospel, and bear whatever hardship that comes in my life with the knowledge that he has given me the strength to bear it.

Personification:  Self-Control  It is my hope that I can begin to display the fruit of self-control in my life.  I have been meaning to make a schedule to use my time during the day more effectively.  The old saying, “The road to hell is paved with good intentions”,  comes to mind.  Therefore, the first thing I will do this morning after Mass is make a schedule for my day.  I will map out every hour and then, by the grace of God, I will stick to the schedule.

Prayer:  Lord, please send down your Holy Spirit to grant me the power to love more freely and live within the means that you have given me in all areas of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

